A 30-something's lovingly sarcastic journey through all of Sweet Valley High, and then some (with lots of swears)

UK fans and others who have not yet read Sweet Valley Confidential, feel free to read this review as I haven’t included any big plot spoilers

….um, this book is fucking terrible. I had a hard time finishing it whereas previously I had expected to devour it in one sitting. I’m really sorry, Francine. Not that I’m sorry I read it nor am I sad that I’m forced to rip it apart, for therein lies my secret joy in life.

I’ll have so much more to say later, and it will not be very nice. Just let me finish fully absorbing the enormous turd still wallowing in what was once my brain. Because some of it has left me MEGA confused and, to speak like Valley Girl Jess, that is so just the like, beginning.

Oh, and aubynpeach? Totally agree with you: the last line of Chapter 14 must be the greatest line ever uttered in a Sweet Valley book! (Not saying what it was here!) Thank you Francine for brightening my day with that. For once I’m not speaking in jest. As much as I was irritated with the way the book was laid out – seriously, more so than the tale itself and the GLARING lapses in continuity from the original series, I couldn’t be more delighted that I have some brand new material to discuss 😉

UK FANS – 4 more days till you can get your copy!

Comments on: "My Initial Reaction (A Spoiler-Free Review)" (2)

  1. aubynpeach said:

    I am so with you. I was about halfway through and thought “ok, this isn’t so bad” and then when it was over I felt a little bit cheaper as a woman for reading it 🙂

  2. It was jaw-droppingly terrible. I just finished it an hour ago. The story being bad is one thing, but the writing made me want to throw things. Worse than Twilight writing.

Leave a Reply

