A 30-something's lovingly sarcastic journey through all of Sweet Valley High, and then some (with lots of swears)

Happy Sunday! I hope you are all having a lovely weekend, and thanks for all the support of my blog! In the meantime, while I work on Olivia’s Story, I noted that one of my favorite tongue-in-cheek blogs, Studies in Crap did a review of the first Sweet Valley University book! Blog author Alan Scherstuhl routinely reviews really weird books that he finds at thrift stores and flea markets.

I have never read any of the SVU series, but I’m slightly familiar with the basics of what happens. Still, I’m surprised by how BAD they sound in his review! I had no idea! Have any of you read them and did you like them better or worse than SVH?

You can read the review by Alan Scherstuhl here:

Studies in Crap: Before SVU Meant SVU: Lessons Learned at Sweet Valley University

Comments on: "Wow, Sweet Valley U. sounds like a heap of crap!" (6)

  1. I know most people hate SVU- but I will sadly admit that I always loved it. At least up until about book 35 or so. Not more than SVH though.

    • I’ve been considering reviewing the first book of each of the “other” SV series as a project once I’m done with SVH. I’m kind of looking forward to reviewing the first SVU book now, where before I was kind of “ehhhh” about it!

  2. Well, to be fair, the SVH books are also total crap. That didn’t stop me from obsessing over them when I was 11, of course. I reread a few recently, and WOW the writing is bad.

  3. “…and did you like them better or worse than SVH?”

    yes and no; when I inititally read them (7-10 years ago) I was just impressed w/ everything about them (lol, teen years). But having had just recently started the series again, w/ book #1 still fresh in mind, I do agree that there are alot of bits & bobs w/in them that got on my nerves, esp the pretencious sounding names of all the students.
    But for a target audience of 12+ it is what it is; fictious.

  4. I admit. I loved them but started growing out of them by book 7.

Leave a Reply

