A 30-something's lovingly sarcastic journey through all of Sweet Valley High, and then some (with lots of swears)

At some point it became known that Francine had created and maintained a “plot bible” that contained every last vital bit of information regarding the stories and plotlines. I’m not sure when or how this tidbit first got out, and I’ve found almost no real information on it other than what I’ve just shared. Many other bloggers have discussed it, and some have confirmed it does exist with various ghostwriters whom they have interviewed. I once emailed a ghostwriter myself and she also confirmed that there was one and tried to help me track down a copy (to no avail). Overall, I think the most we know is that it contained supposedly every tidbit ever, and that it took the form of a huge sheaf of papers that grew over the years until it was more of a huge, fat book of SV info.

Now, I’m mentioning this because my ears pricked up a bit ago, because I’m up late listening to a fan chat Francine did on Ustream (see it here) because I like to pretend I don’t have to get up for my boring job in a few hours like you know, someone who isn’t a fabulous best-selling, jet-setting YA series creator (who, me jealous?) and Francine responded to a question from a fan who asked her if she had ever considered publishing the Sweet Valley bible. Francine said she had never heard that idea before but she thought it was a very good one and she seemed to be taking the time to consider it. Ohmygosh! Is there a chance we could see it at last? I have been DYING to get my hands on a copy ever since I learned it exists! Part of me wonders if it will just be the same old details I track tediously for every single book, or if it will in fact contain some new things (new to us that is). For example … I always hear it insinuated that there are numerous SVH books out there that were simply never released. If that’s so, are these plotlines also sketched out in the bible? You won’t edit them out will you Francine?

Here’s another idea I have had that I doubt will ever come to fruition, but is fun to think about. IF in fact there are SVH books out there that were never released, is there any chance those old scripts can in fact be edited, given “old style” covers (maybe even commission original cover artist James Mathewuse to do them!) and released as “extras” for the mega fans? Because that would be kick ass. You may not have thought those rejected books would sell back then, but guess what? They will NOW! You might have to pay the people who wrote them royalties for all I know … or maybe you wouldn’t.

So yeah, that’s my very late night rambling about all things SVH. Also in the Francine chat, she mentioned she doesn’t really keep up with the fan blogs but that some of the people who worked with her on SVC do and they fill her in. Now I have no idea if that includes my blog or not. I do know they included that blog on their Facebook page at one point. I was amazed they’d even found it because honestly, when I first started this I didn’t think ANYONE would read it. I ramble a lot and I’m insane about details. So I’m VERY VERY grateful to all of my readers and commenters, all of whom have any number of excellent SV blogs to give their valuable time to, every day. But in response to one of those wonderful commenters, Jamie, and a comment she left me earlier – I don’t know if my readers do include anyone who works with Francine. But, just in case … I thought it couldn’t hurt to add one more vote for the release of the “plot bible” as well as a little idea to put any other material unseen by fans out there! Seriously, with those unreleased stories? If you release them and make ’em look like THE REAL DEAL (NO STUPID 21ST CENTURY EDITS) … I can pretty much guarantee they will buy it. Hell test it out with a limited edition 50,000 copies or so first printing if you don’t believe me.

What do you think? Would you want to see all the old materials released? Are you foaming at the mouth to see it too or is that just me … maybe I need a rabies shot.

Comments on: "A Shameless Plea for Unreleased Sweet Valley Materials" (15)

  1. In the words of one Jessica Wakefield, that would be 137 shades of awesome!
    Publish them! Pretty please! With 137 sprinkles on top in shades that match the colour of the ocean!
    Seriously, you have to FranPasc, if you or someone who knows you is reading. I can guarantee that they would sell. Hell, even Lila Fowler herself would camp outside in a sleeping bag for this!

  2. aubynpeach said:

    What about the option that is there are ideas out there that have not fully been seen to fruition that each blogger gets to write one of those books. I would totally buy a special edition blogger round of books. I think those would be more lovingly crafted than was done with some of the ghostwriters.

    • Good idea! There are some great writers out there! (As for me, I’ve secretly always wanted to craft a book all about Lila – just Lila! – and her badass adventures when she decides to leave SV behind, personally!)

      • aubynpeach said:

        That is exactly why it would be cool. Each blogger has their own favorite and ideas for what they would like to see and they would be, probably, more true to the series than Francine herself was in SVC. You would still have to go by the outline that was created, but I think it would be awesome. Even have a couple of bloggers use the same outline and see how they would both handle it.

  3. I think that would be a great thing to see. Everyone has their own take on what they wanted to see happen with the characters as adults and I think those of us who either blog or follow blogs definitely have a thorough understanding of some of these characters.

    I’ll get to work on my own SV “novel” and see how it plays out. The worst that could happen is that it totally sucks and then Francine can snark on it and give me my comeuppance 😉

    • As a fellow SV blogger, I would be in on that idea, though I would find it difficult to write a more serious “novel”. Last year I did a parody of SVH and the Baby-Sitter’s Club, “When Lila Met Stacey”, which I posted in installments on my site. I would totally be in on some more of this kind of thing, and would be very interested in what some of the other bloggers came up with. The writer of “Four Minutes Older” has also done a snarky spin off which is hilarious.

  4. I actually called James Mathewuse to get a quote for a portrait done in the style of a Sweet Valley book. The quote was super reasonable for custom artwork, and he sounded like he’d appreciate the work. I bet the publishers could get him to do it!

  5. [i]IF in fact there are SVH books out there that were never released, is there any chance those old scripts can in fact be edited, given “old style” covers (maybe even commission original cover artist James Mathewuse to do them!) and released as “extras” for the mega fans? Because that would be kick ass. You may not have thought those rejected books would sell back then, but guess what? They will NOW! You might have to pay the people who wrote them royalties for all I know … or maybe you wouldn’t[/i]

    I actually think that sounds like an AMAZING idea, unfortunately the franchise doesn’t really seem to be speaking high levels of volume, in terms of catering for what the fans actually want; more so, the attitude they seem to have taken with this all, is that they’ve been there; done that; and want to move on to the next venture & idea. It’s fair enough, I guess as it is ultimately their brand to do with as they please. But they seem to be opting for the less-work-on-their-part option, and it actually shows.

  6. aubynpeach said:

    Ok, i am now wanting to check on you. I miss you when you are gone and I am hoping all is well. Was there another co worker that made you question yourself, because I will kick some butt if I have too. Please come back soon.

    • Awww! Thank you for checking on me! I’ve read the next book; I just got kinda busy and a little stressed and haven’t thought of much to say about it. But I do plan to update soon! Promise! 🙂

  7. james l mathewuse said:

    james l mathewuse 850-508-7550 2 pm 11 pm jamesmathewuse@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

